6 More Years Football Results & Scorers Added

kildare gaa logoWe’ve been busy trawling through the archives to expand our Results section in football and have added a further 6 years of data to bring us all the way back to 1989.

The results can be viewed here:   http://kildaregaa365.com/index.php/kildare-senior-football-match-results/

Kildare were operating in Division 3 South of the National Football League back then and their Championship summer ended abruptly with a four point defeat to Dublin in their first outing. Hard to imagine that 15,000 were allowed cram into St. Conleth’s Park that June bank holiday afternoon.

The following season was remarkable for the goalscoring feats of Kildare players.   In 1989/90 (in those days the NFL began in October/November and took a break for December and January) Kildare players scored two or more goals on no less than 5 occasions. While that can be partly put down to the quality of the opposition in the league, to put it in context there have only been 8 occasions in the 26 subsequent years when the feat has been repeated.

The “2 goal or more” Club (League and Championship) over the last 25 years:

2014 – Emmet Bolton (2-1) v Monaghan, All Ireland Qualifier

2012 – James Kavanagh (2-2) v Westmeath, NFL

2008 – Johnny Doyle (2-1, 1-0 from pen) v Mayo, NFL

2003 – Tadhg Fennin (2-0) v Cavan, NFL

2002 – Tadhg Fennin (2-2) v Dublin, Leinster Final

1993 – Martin Lynch (2-0) v Wicklow, Leinster SFC

1992 – Jarlath Gilroy (2-1, 2-0 from pens) v Westmeath, Leinster SFC

1991 – Jarlath Gilroy (2-0) v Cavan, NFL

1990 – John Crofton (2-0) v Wexford, Leinster SFC

1990 – Declan Kerrigan (3-5) v Carlow, NFL

1990 – Declan Kerrigan (2-5) v Kilkenny, NFL

1989 – Jarlath Gilroy (2-3) v Tipperary, NFL

1989 – Dave Fennin (2-4) v Waterford, NFL