Six Under-20’s to face Offaly

Padraig Nash

Kildare will field six of their All-Ireland under-20 winning side as they face Offaly in the O’Byrne Cup in the Faithful Fields training facility tomorrow night.

Four of the new faces come in the backline while Jimmy Hyland is joined by Padraig Nash in the forward line as Cian O’Neill goes for a line-up with plenty to interest the traveling Lilywhite.

Mark Barrett holds on to the full-back position with corner backs John O’Toole and DJ Earley giving the Monasterevin club a trio of players making their first start for the county. Kilcock’s Jason Gibbons completes the new starter list at wing back.

Of the more experienced group, James Murray gets a chance to push for a regular wing back slot while the returning Adam Tyrrell, Padraig Fogarty and Eoghan O’Flaherty all get a chance in a dynamic looking forward line that has no starters from Kildare’s championship this summer.  Ben McCormack and Jimmy Hyland make up the full forward line with Fogarty.

The match throws in at 7.45pm. It will be Offaly’s first outing in the competition after their game last week-end fell foul of the weather.

Kildare have struck up a 10 game winning run against their neighbours, which dates back to the Leinster Quarter Final of 2006.

Kildare Team:

  1. Mark Donnellan (Maynooth)
  2. John O’Toole (Monasterevin)
  3. Mark Barrett (Ballymore Eustace)
  4. DJ Earley (Monasterevin)
  5. Jason Gibbons (Kilcock)
  6. Eoin Doyle (Naas)
  7. James Murray (Moorefield)
  8. Paul Cribbin (Johnstown Bridge)
  9. Tommy Moolick (Leixlip)
  10. Adam Tyrrell (Moorefield)
  11. Padraig Nash (Monasterevin)
  12. Eoghan O’Flaherty (Carbury)
  13. Jimmy Hyland (Ballyteague)
  14. Ben McCormack (Sarsfields)
  15. Padraig Fogarty (St.Laurence’s)