By Richard Commins

Brilliant Kildare are Eirgrid Leinster Under 20 Football champions for the first time since 2018 after a high-octane shoot-out with Dublin in tonight’s provincial final in Portlaoise.

For the third game in succession Kildare edged home by just two points and arguably they were the more battle-hardened outfit because of those tight encounters against Laois and Offaly over the last fortnight.

Full Report in the Kildare Nationalist :

KILDARE: Cormac Barker 0-1 (f); Harry O’Neill, Dean O’Donoghue, Mark Maguire; Tommy Gill 0-2, James McGrath, Aedan Boyle; Brendan Gibbons, Luke Killian; Ryan Burke, Daniel Lynam 0-2, Shane Farrell 0-1; Aaron Browne (capt) 0-1 (m), Adam Fanning 0-4, Eoin Bagnall 0-4 (2fs). Subs: Niall O’Regan for Boyle 40, Darragh Swords 0-1 for Browne 49, Jack McKevitt for Burke 52, Adam Conneely for Gibbons 57, James Dalton 0-1 for Fanning 62.

DUBLIN: Hugh O’Sullivan; Kieran Conroy, Theo Clancy, Harry Donaghy; David O’Dowd 0-1, Greg McEneaney, Conor Tyrrell; Adam Waddick, Senan Forker; Tom Brennan, Fionn Murray 0-5 (3fs), Seamus Smith; Ryan O’Dwyer 0-3 (1f), Luke Breathnach 0-5, Sean Kinsella 0-1. Subs: Peter Duffy for Smith 36, Ronan Cullen for Brennan 36, Luke Ward for Kinsella 43, Ben Millist for Donaghy 46.

REFEREE: Seamus Mulhare (Laois).

By admin