David Herity has shuffled his pack once more for the hurlers’ third Kehoe Cup tie against Down in Hawkfield on Sunday (1pm).

In all there are nine changes from the team that started the disappointing one-point win against Wicklow at Bray last weekend.

Indeed the side looks closer to what might be considered Herity’s strongest XV that will start the league in a few weeks time with the likes of Paddy McKenna, Simon Leacy, Cathal McCabe and Brian Byrne coming back into the line-up after taking a breather in Wicklow.

Down have lost their opening two games and might have considered pulling out of this one given the recent spate of withdrawals from the O’Byrne Cup and should be commended for making the long journey south.

Kildare line-up as follows:

  1. Paddy McKenna, Clane
  2. Simon Leacy, Naas
  3. Sean Christianseen, Clane
  4. Cormac Byrne, EOCC
  5. Jack Travers, Leixlip
  6. Cian Shanahan, Clane
  7. Harry Carroll, Naas
  8. Cathal McCabe, Maynooth
  9. Paul Dolan, EOCC
  10. Johnny Byrne, Coill Dubh
  11. James Burke, Naas
  12. Jack Higgins, EOCC
  13. Brian Byrne, Naas
  14. David Qualter, Maynooth
  15. Cathal Dowling, Naas


16. Sean Burke, Naas 17. Micheal Hogan, Maynooth 18. Peter O’Donoghue, Naas 19. Drew Costello, Ardclough 20. Frank Bass, Confey 21. Declan Flaherty, Coill Dubh 22. Sean Whelan, Ardclough 23. Reece Gavin, Moorefield 24. Killian Aherne, Clane

By admin