By Richard Commins

GOALS from Dan Lynam and Eoin Bagnell proved crucial as Kildare Under 20’s fashioned a second draw in succession in the Kerins Cup Under 20 Development League against a strong Dublin side in Parnell Park on Saturday afternoon.

Dublin threatened to pull away a couple of times, but Kildare showed great resilience to hang in, despite having made 12 changes from the side that drew with Laois the week before.

Kildare’s second goal from substitute Bagnall put them into a one point lead with seven minutes remaining and they looked like winners when Tommy Gill added a point four minutes later.

But Dublin struck back with points from Darragh Dempsey and Ronan Curran to level matters as the game headed towards injury time and there was still time for a further scare for the Lilywhites when Cullen’s late effort was flagged as a point by the umpires before referee Keith Sheerin intervened to rule it out.

Full report in this week’s Kildare Nationalist.

KILDARE: Cormac Barker (Kilcullen) 0-1 (’45); Harry O’Neill (Clane), Dean O’Donoghue (Celbridge), Mark Maguire (Naas); Tom Martin (Suncroft), James McGrath (Athy), Tommy Gill (Carbury) 0-1; Luke Killian (Sallins), Brendan Gibbons (Kilcock); Adam Fanning (Clane), Daniel Lynam 1-1 (Caragh), Callum Bolton (Sarsfields); Ciaran O’Brien (Kilcullen), Aaron Browne (Celbridge) 0-2 (1f), Eoin Meehan (Moorefield) 0-2. Subs: Niall O’Regan (Celbridge) for Fanning 30, Eoin Bagnall (Allenwood) 1-1 (0-1f) for O’Brien HT, Shane Farrell (Kilcock) for Bolton 39, Luke Gorman (St Laurence’s) for Martin 43, Aeden Boyle (Clogherinkoe) for Gibbons 45, Ryan Burke (Caragh) for Meehan 57.

DUBLIN: Max Fitzgerald; Ben Millist, Theo Clancy, Harry Donaghy; David O’Dowd, Greg McEneaney, Eoghan O’Connor Flanagan 0-1; Adam Waddick 0-1, Senan Forker; Seamus Smith, Jack Lundy 0-3, Eoin Wilde; Fionn Murray 0-2 (2fs), Sean Kinsella, Dara Fagan 0-2. Subs: Alex Gavin for Waddick, Ryan O’Dwyer for Smith, Darragh Dempsey 0-2 (2fs) for McEneaney, Ronan Cullen 0-2 for Forker, Tom Brennan 0-1 for O’Connor Flanagan (all HT), Ethan Dunne for Kinsella 48.

REFEREE: Keith Sheerin (Meath)

By admin